American College of Osteopathic Neurologists and Psychiatrists

The American College of Neuropsychiatrists

(An Osteopathic Institution)

By Floyd E. Dunn, D.O., F.A.C.N., F.A.A.M.D.

A test of the viability of an institution is its capacity to survive and reintegrate following a disrupting crisis. Our College demonstrated (again) its ability to reintegrate after a crisis almost as devastating as that which it had survived in the earlier years of the sixties following the California Defection. The new crisis was, of course, the break-up of communication, integration, continuity, and record keeping in our College followed the sudden death of our stalwart Executive Secretary and Editor: our beloved Syd Kanev. Unfortunately, we had selfishly “ridden the willing horse to death”. Syd had been willing-and capable-so we all just “let Syd do it”. We had given him no younger assistants to “break in”, learn the ropes”, and share the load. When we suddenly found ourselves without our center-pole, our tent began to collapse. But fortunately we were able to shore it up: at a special meeting of the Board of Governors on February 6, 1977, John Cox, D.O., F.A.C.N., took over the duties of Secretary-treasurer of the A.O.B.N.P., and Ned Baron, D.O., accepted the post of Editor of the Bulletin. The crisis was handled, but things were shaky during the early months while the three willing volunteers were learning the intricacies of the positions they assumed. Many things involved throughout the operation of those three positions had never been written down in “Manuals of Procedure”. Syd knew how to do them all because he had helped them grow and develop over more than a decade and a half, but now, each of the three neophytes had to start “from scratch”, and learn by experience how things were done in each of the areas of their individual responsibility. It is a testament to their talents that each of them succeeded well—that the three new poles nicely held up the circus tent that is the A.C.N. and the AOBNP. And the show went on!

The Forty-first Annual Business and Scientific Sessions of the College were held in Atlanta, Georgia in the World Congress Center, November 6-12, 1977. The members recognized a decade of inflation by finally doubling dues in all categories of membership and increasing charges for annual evaluations of trainees’ programs. Otherwise, this meeting was notable chiefly for the poor attendance at our scientific lecture sessions. The real reason for this was not immediately apparent; perhaps it was a reaction to the success of the Mid-year Sessions earlier at Philadelphia under Dr. Arthur Greenfield’s chairmanship; or perhaps the growing frequency of continuing medical education programs was beginning to dampen interest in our particular annual sessions. In the business sessions, the members awarded life memberships to Wilbur Cole and George Guest; and the conclave of Fellows added Ned Baron and Fred Marshall to their number.

The College went to the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel in Honolulu Hawaii for its Forty-second Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with the Annual A.O.A. Convention October 29-November 2, 1978. At this meeting, pursuant to earlier-adopted changes in the constitution, the Board of Governors was enlarged by the election (in staggered four-year terms) of four members-at-large. Dr. Floyd E. Dunn, as Chairman of the Constitution & By-Laws Committee presented a proposal to provide for the section of “Honorary Fellows” of the College: “in recognition of significant contribution to this College, to the Osteopathic Profession, or in the broad field of Humanities, upon recommendation of the Conclave of Fellows and approval of the Board of Governors;” and a proposal to change the mechanism of becoming a member of the college to agree with that of the A.O.A., so that new applicants could be enrolled thirty days after publication of the applicant’s name in one of the official Osteopathic Journals if no objections was made in that interim. The college members adopted both proposals.

The Board of Governors announced their decision to combine the office of Treasurer with that of Executive Secretary for convenience of carrying on business, and to be able to use the treasurer’s stipend in paying honoraria to our annual lecture program participants. Also, the Program Committee was restructured into a Standing Committee of five members.

Page 29