American College of Osteopathic Neurologists and Psychiatrists

The American College of Neuropsychiatrists

(An Osteopathic Institution)

By Floyd E. Dunn, D.O., F.A.C.N., F.A.A.M.D.

Also of historical importance in 1972 was the announcement of the acceptance by the Menninger School of Psychiatry of their first two full-time Fellows with D.O. degrees, in the persons of Kenneth Kobes and Donald Curran.

By the time of our Thirty-sixth Annual Meeting, which was held October 6th thru 11th 1972 at Bal Harbor’s Hotel Americana, our College had 160 active members. It was at this meeting that a procedural rule was voted requiring that Senior members attend at least one of three annual sessions in order to maintain their active membership status with the full privileges there unto appertaining.

Fourteen candidates in neurology and seventeen candidates in psychiatry were given their examinations before the A.O.B.N.P. December 1st, 2nd, & 3rd, 1972; this was the largest number of candidates the board had examined in a single “class”, up to that time. The July 1973 issue of the Bulletin listed eighteen of this “class” as having received notification of their certification: a good record considering that the M.D. Board was failing about fifty percent of their candidates during this period.

The October 1973 Bulletin (Vol. XXVI, No. 4) reported that the former requirement of the Committee on Postdoctoral Training (of the A.O.A.) for D.O. sponsorship of candidates in allopathic training centers was rescinded, and that the requirement to spend the first year of residency in an approved osteopathic training center was changed to apply only when there is a comparable training program within our profession. The same issue reported that the College had two hundred members in various categories and nearly ninety-five men & women in full-time residency or fellowship training programs.

Our Thirty-seventh Annual Meeting, held October 26-November 1, 1973 at the Rivergate Exhibition Center in New Orleans honored Fleda Brigham and Edyth Varner with Distinguished Service Certificates. At this meeting reports were made on forty-four institutions in which our D.O. graduates were receiving training in Neurology and/of Psychiatry.

On February 12, 1974, the Board of Trustees of the A.O.A. acceded to the recommendation of the A.O.B.N.P. that nine candidates who had successfully taken their oral, written, and clinical examinations in neurology or psychiatry be granted their specialty certificates. This made a total of one hundred certificants of the A.O.B.N.&P., which represented a growth of 550% since this historian became a diplomat in Neurology & Psychiatry #19, twenty-eight years earlier.

The Thirty-eighth Annual Meeting, held September 7-13, 1974 at the Memorial Coliseum in Portland Oregon surpassed the previous years sessions both in peak attendance and program excellence, according to Bulletin Editor Sydney Kanev. The session was notable for the presentation of a new revision of the Constitution & By-Laws by Floyd E. Dunn, Chairman of the C & B-L Committee, which was unanimously adopted, and on a motion by Dunn, voted to become the standing rules of procedure pending approval by the A.O.A. Board of Trustees. One of the important changes in the new basic documents was the creation of a Board of Governors consisting of the President, immediate Past President, President-elect, Vice President, Executive Secretary, Treasurer and four members, nominated by the board, and elected by the College to serve (in staggered terms) for four years. This change served spread the responsibility of running the business of the College at the same time that it provided an opportunity for more members to actively contribute their time and talents to the welfare of their college. A second important change was to provide that the Executive Secretary and the Treasurer “shall be selected by the Board of Governors at their discretion.”

Page 27