Member Spotlight

ACONP President: J. Mark Bailey, D.O., PhD, FACN

J. Mark Bailey, D.O., PhD, FACN Professor of Neurology and Anesthesiology, University of Alabama (UAB). He is Director of the UAB Dept. of Neurology Pain Management Program, a Scientist of the UAB Comprehensive Neuroscience Center and the Neurology Rotation Director. Dr. Bailey serves on the UAB Pain Fellowship Evaluation Committee. He is a member of the Alliance for the Development and Advancement of Pain Treatment. Dr. Bailey is adjunct clinical professor at William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine and assistant professor at Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine. He is also the AOA representative to the Workgroup on the Federation of State Medical Board’s Model Policy for the Treatment of Chronic Pain as well as the AOA representative to the Federation of State Medical Boards Opioid Task Force. He serves on the coding subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology and represents AAN as AAN Quality Advisors Group – ACONP representative, AAN Representative Acumen Episode-based Cost Measure Clinical Subcommittee – Musculoskeletal / Spine, AAN Representative AMA Pain Care Task Force – 2018 and AAN Representative – Providers Clinical Support System Steering Committee. Dr. Bailey participated in the creation of the Osteopathic Pain Medicine Boards and serves as the AMA CPT committee. He is part of the CO*RE-REMS Instructor Faculty. He is a Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Neurologists and Psychiatrists (ACONP) and serves as President of the ACONP Board of Governors. Dr. Bailey is a native Mississippian, who attended Millsap College as an undergraduate and University of MS Medical Center for his PhD in Anatomy. He graduated from the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific. Dr. Bailey completed Residency at the University of Alabama Medical Center. Dr. Bailey is Board Certified in Neurology and also Pain Medicine. He was in private practice for 13 years and now in clinical practice at UAB for 10 years. Dr. Bailey is a past president of the Alabama Osteopathic Medical Association.